Read Mabel Jones and the Forbidden City by Will Mabbitt Ross Collins Online

mabel-jones-and-the-forbidden-city

This is the second book in the funny fantasy-adventure series for fans of LEMONY SNICKET, NEIL GAIMAN, and CRESSIDA COWELL"A speedy, splashy, snort-out-loud lark . . . Clever and fun.” —Jacqueline West, author of the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series on The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel JonesWhat do you do when you survive a pirate kidnapping, a milk-drinThis is the second book in the funny fantasy-adventure series for fans of LEMONY SNICKET, NEIL GAIMAN, and CRESSIDA COWELL"A speedy, splashy, snort-out-loud lark . . . Clever and fun.” —Jacqueline West, author of the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series on The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel JonesWhat do you do when you survive a pirate kidnapping, a milk-drinking contest with a giant grizzly bear, and a stint inside the belly of a whale? If you’re Mabel Jones, you do everything you can to avoid another UNLIKELY ADVENTURE! But when Mabel's baby sister is plucked from her crib by an EVIL witch, Mabel has no choice but to follow both to the jungles of the Forbidden City--New York City! But is she prepared to make the ULTIMATE SACRIFICE to save her sister?...

Title : Mabel Jones and the Forbidden City
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780147514264
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 320 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Mabel Jones and the Forbidden City Reviews

  • Brenda
    2019-05-31 02:22

    Originally posted at Log Cabin Library"What do you do when you survive a pirate kidnapping, a milk-drinking contest with a giant grizzly bear, and a stint inside the belly of a whale? If you’re Mabel Jones, you do everything you can to avoid another UNLIKELY ADVENTURE! "Or at least that's what Mabel had hoped at the end of book one, The Unlikely Adventure of Mabel Jones. Mabel is once again home, all safe and sound, wiser and a more seasoned pirate. But, unbeknownst to Mabel, an evil witch/sorceress has been watching and plotting. She even sends her creeping vines to snatch Mabel and carry her off to the Forbidden City. As I said though, Mabel is wiser, and the vines end up snatching Mabel's little sister Maggie instead. Hot on their trail, Mabel hitches a ride with one of the vines and gets pulled into a whole different time filled with talking animals, and where "hoomans" are extinct. Desperate to find her sister, Mabel enlists the help of some fellow adventures who are also on a search for the Forbidden City and they in turn run into her former crew-mates, who just might know how to get them there. Mabel is just adorable in her pj's and bunny slippers, swinging a cutlass. She never ceases to amuse me. Even the intrusive narrator is quite humorous, perhaps not quite as much as I recall from the first book, yet still keeps things entertaining. Captain Pelf and Jarvis, crew from Mabel's time on the Ferrous Maggot make an appearance, as well as new additions of Professor Carruthers Badger-Badger, PhD and Timothy Speke, an otter who has a remarkable ability for sketching. And man, those illustrations by Ross Collins are gorgeous and wonderfully detailed. There was a nice balance of newer and familiar characters, with Carruthers and Speke adding a nice British sounding flair. One of my favorite characters, Omynus Hussh was also present, but sadly Mabel and his friendship has returned to a hatred with him having ominous plans for our poor Mabel. The other change I noticed is that this book seemed to have darker undertones to it, not to say I didn't enjoy them, which I did, just that it is something to keep in mind. There is a particular scene where Mabel goes underground into a high school filled with the piles of bones of students sitting at their desks looking at a skeletal teacher and we're uncertain what happened to poor Jarvis. There was also a battle with a huge creepy insect called the Scuttling Death, and well the evil sorceress is also a bit unnerving. Myself, I enjoyed the rise in tension and felt nothing was to over the top or scary, with the narrator taking even these moments and making them funny and light or just making changes in the text size, spacing of words, or adding blank pages in between to show Mabel making her way around in the dark. All making for a fun and amusing story. Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review via a Giveaway hosted at Word Spelunking.

  • Jeff Raymond
    2019-06-13 03:21

    Closer to a 1.5.I thought the first Mabel Jones book was fine. Trying very hard to be Roald Dahl and not quite getting there, but still being a pretty okay book on a whole. The second book is such a ridiculous step backward on a whole that it's almost barely worth noting. The fun is gone, the story less engaging, and the result just almost a flop on a whole.Truly, I can't recommend giving this series a shot at this point. There must be room for a good girl pirate book out there, but Mabel Jones, sadly, ain't it.

  • Hizam
    2019-06-08 05:16

    مضحك في بعض الصفحات ومقزز في البعض الآخر

  • Bryan D
    2019-06-04 22:15

    Rejoice the return of Mabel Jones in this satisfying chaotic fast paced delightful tale that's much darker than her previous adventure; yet again the book is beautifully illustrated and Mabel Jones is the same feisty intelligent kid who is removed from her comfort zone to rescue her sister.It's feels very like Jim Henson's Labyrinth mixed in with some Walter Moers but that said it's still a very original charming world with one of the best cliff hangers I've encountered in the second part of a series in quite a while.I would be delighted if Mabel Jones became a household name and a character beloved by many of various ages because I can't think of any better medicine for a frazzled mind.

  • I. Merey
    2019-06-01 23:02

    Great book for kids (and some adults who are into this sort of thing.)Pirates, talking animals, jungle sacrifices, kidnapping vines, lost cities, cool typographies, neat chaotic illustrations, good and evil----and good!

  • Chris
    2019-05-21 01:25

    More over-the-top silliness and adventure with Mabel Jones. I can't wait for the next one.

  • AWD
    2019-05-25 00:11

    Good.

  • Nicole
    2019-05-28 01:21

    Bonkers! Just flat out crazy piratey fun with my favourite female character. I hope it gets made into a movie so everyone can see the brilliance of Mabbitt I can't wait for book 3. Fans of alliteration will love such sentences as "Yes, every shady glade can conceals parade of potential predators poised to pounce." I have many sentences that made me happy but " Can the bird's warning squawks penetrate the stupefying fug of Mr Habib's soporific herbs" had me screaming for every school child in the land to own a copy. I love this series may it never end as I don't particularly enjoy vast volumes of pickled onions. Huzzah!

  • Christie
    2019-06-01 01:19

    The second in the series is just as fun to read as the first! Mabel Jones is my new favorite heroine and I'm eagerly awaiting, as is the wee one, the arrival of the next in the series scheduled to be released in February 2017.In this adventure book, Mabel Jones is after the creatures who have abducted her baby sister. Meeting up with some of our favorites from the first book, Mabel joins must enter the Forbidden City or risk losing her sister forever.The intrigue! The excitement! The DANGER!These really are fun and fantastically awesome books. Check them out if you get the chance.

  • Claire Walsh
    2019-05-31 22:04

    One of the things which I thought was wonderful was the use of figurative language. Its brilliant and mad and I used it in a practical sense to try to explain something to the children about using metaphors. This is a book which I can see myself returning to for examples for a long while yet.

  • Layla
    2019-06-10 04:08

    leuk en spannend. spannend einde. erg benieuwd naar het volgende deel. heb niet dit boek maar de Nederlandse versie gelezen. alsnog wel een erg leuk boek.

  • Kelley
    2019-05-22 04:08

    Not my genre, but LOVED this book! SO fun and creepy and delicious!

  • Denise
    2019-06-17 00:24

    Such a cute story. The writing is so clever and the "play" through text styles along with the fabulous illustrations make it a joy to read.

  • Neil Kennedy
    2019-06-05 20:55

    Brilliant best book everBecause it made me want to be Mabel jones loved itSo much but it was quite dangerous to though

  • Becca
    2019-06-18 05:25

    I'm loving this series!! It's perfect for boys and girls!