Read The Horse Changer by Craig Smith Online

the-horse-changer

Follow the intelligent and compellingly chequered career of a little-known participant in Rome’s civil wars Dellius distinguishes himself in Caesar’s Spanish war against Pompey, becomes a tribune of cavalry in Caesar’s army, and looks forward to an assured and glittering career. But when his hero is assassinated, the Roman republic is plunged into chaos as both his heirs aFollow the intelligent and compellingly chequered career of a little-known participant in Rome’s civil wars Dellius distinguishes himself in Caesar’s Spanish war against Pompey, becomes a tribune of cavalry in Caesar’s army, and looks forward to an assured and glittering career. But when his hero is assassinated, the Roman republic is plunged into chaos as both his heirs and enemies jostle for power. In the civil wars that follow, Dellius is soon caught up in a maelstrom of shifting allegiances, and the young soldier will need to discover reserves of both tenacity and ruthlessness if he is to survive. As he journeys from the orgiastic salons of Rome’s Palatine Hill to the Palaces of Alexandria, the rocky fortresses of Judea and the bloody field of Philippi, he manages to incur the enmity both of Egypt’s queen and Rome’s future emperor, but also to snare the affections of a beautiful and cunning young senator’s wife, Livia Drusilla. This epic cast of historical greats, which includes Julius Caesar, Octavian, Mark Antony, Horace, Cassius Longinus, Cleopatra, Herod the Great, and the future empress, Livia, will appeal to readers of Robert Harris, Robert Graves, James Clavell, and Hilary Mantel....

Title : The Horse Changer
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781910183137
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 448 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Horse Changer Reviews

  • Jeanette
    2018-11-03 23:30

    I won pleased to have won this book in a Goodreads First Reads giveaway. Although won some time ago, it did get buried under a huge pile of other books. This was an excellent novel and one that I feel would make a good movie. One of those books that I didn't want to end! I rarely write what a story is about for fear of spoiling for others, but I do recommend.

  • Sarah
    2018-11-14 22:44

    I ordered a copy of The Horse Changer as a lover of the Augustan age despite the fact that it generally got mediocre reviews on the sites I viewed it on. Having read the book, I'm afraid that I must join the voices before me that gave it a resounding "meh."It's not that it's a bad book (I've definitely read things about the Augustan age that are way, way worse), but it's not particularly exciting. It follows the story of a fellow named Quintus Dellius, a commander called "the horse changer" by his contemporaries thanks to his tendency to switch sides during the civil war following Caesar's death. Quintus Dellius as a historical character is delightfully intriguing, described as a defector and procurer of erotic delights for the randy Mark Antony. Quintus Dellius as the narrator in The Horse Changer is a little bit uninspired. He's an interesting perspective to choose, and a refreshing choice at that given that most novels about this time period choose to focus on such eminent figures as Antony and Augustus, but sadly he is just not that interesting in this book. In fact, nothing in particular is particularly captivating. Even the fact that Augustus is portrayed as a pathetic and cowardly leader (something which usually gets a rise out of me) barely made me do anything more than roll my eyes. It's simply not that exciting.It would be unfair not to list the book's positive points, though. The choice of Quintus Dellius as narrator allows readers to view a side of the civil wars fought by the second triumvirate and Caesar's assassins that is not typically looked at. From a historical perspective, the book is generally well-researched. Finally, the friendship between Quintus Dellius and the poet Horace (who is, I will say, a delight in this book) is precious, and I only wish there was more of it because it made me actually connect to Dellius.So, overall, not a really exciting read. But it's nowhere near the worst book written about the Augustan age, and if you're interested in a somewhat different perspective for this time period, this is a fairly quick, alright book to read.

  • Julie
    2018-11-01 21:35

    I was given a free copy of this book by Goodreads.This book is a wonderfully detailed account of the life of Quintus Dellius covering 49 BC / 8 BC – part fact, part fiction. It gives an insight into some of the wars that the Roman army took part in during the period 49 BC / 38 BC from Quintus’s point of view. Even though the author does state that not all of the detail is fact I really enjoyed imagining what the army went through or possibly went through? I found the extra detail gave the story more depth and made me think about what life would have been like for a commissioned officer. The hardships they suffered, how hard they had to train to survive and the love/hate they felt for their generals brought the story alive. This is a great book.

  • Jo
    2018-11-06 04:38

    Fantastic novelisation of a minor character in Roman history. This was incredibly addictive and fascinating and gripped me from beginning to end. It only took me so long to read because I've been a bit out of it from having surgery.

  • Alice
    2018-11-10 21:44

    I won this book through Goodreads Giveaways! The front of this book claims an 'epic rendering of Rome's civil wars' which, in part, I do agree with. Civil wars? Yes. Epic rendering? Hmm... not so much. The Horse Changer spans the life of Quintus Dellius, a young man in various armies at varies points across the Roman Empire's continental frontiers. He seems to meet everyone from Julius Caesar to Cleopatra and his travels are undeniably entertaining. However it isn't a novel I'd necessarily describe as 'epic'. Expecting a dense and heavy plot full of description and detail Smith presents an easy to read jolly through Quintus' life. While a lot happens I felt there could have been more detail and time spent on the intricacies of political life to give the plot more drive, instead we flittered around and I was left confused by why allegiances were changing. I suppose a simple soldier might not know, but some artistic licence should be allowed for plot convenience.I was also somewhat disappointed to find the writing easy and modern which made any historical aspect feel flimsy. I think a narrative of this kind can sustain a more detailed approach (think Game of Thrones!). I did enjoy The Horse Charger even though it wasn't what I expected, but I wouldn't recommend it to hardcore historical fiction fans who are sure to be disappointed. I'd recommend this to anyone wanting to dabble in history or as a gateway to other novels.

  • susan murray
    2018-10-22 21:36

    Won from goodreadsPart true part fiction found this quite interesting not part of history I knew a lot about. How hard life was then and so easy for you to physically lose your head and property taken off you.Battle scenes were intriguing and made you think how hard it was to actually survive them.If interested in Romans and history worth a read.

  • Constance
    2018-11-04 02:50

    Often dense and sometimes rambling, but overall an interesting and insightful read.

  • Pam Butterfield
    2018-11-07 02:29

    this book was a good read and the story was really challenging.would read more from this author