Read Delta Green: Through a Glass, Darkly by Dennis Detwiller Online

delta-green-through-a-glass-darkly

"Born of the U.S. government's 1928 raid on the degenerate coastal town of Innsmouth, Massachusetts, the covert agency known as Delta Green spent four decades opposing the forces of darkness with honor, but without glory. Stripped of sanction after a disastrous 1969 operation in Cambodia, Delta Green's leaders made a secret pact: to continue their work without authority, w"Born of the U.S. government's 1928 raid on the degenerate coastal town of Innsmouth, Massachusetts, the covert agency known as Delta Green spent four decades opposing the forces of darkness with honor, but without glory. Stripped of sanction after a disastrous 1969 operation in Cambodia, Delta Green's leaders made a secret pact: to continue their work without authority, without support, and without fear. Delta Green agents slip through the system, manipulating the federal bureaucracy while pushing the darkness back for another day; but often at a shattering personal cost. "Ten years ago, everything changed. It's time you found out how. It's January 2001.The Delta Green agents code-named Cyrus and Charlie get the call: A young boy dead and buried for years has reappeared, healthy and happy, as if no time at all had passed and the disease that killed him had never been. The family thinks it's a miracle, but Delta Green has seen too many miracles turn to madness. Cyrus and Charlie must discover what horrors lurk behind this one. The mission brings them to the brink of apocalypse -- to the edge of the revelation and destruction of Delta Green -- to secrets and terrors at the heart of reality itself....

Title : Delta Green: Through a Glass, Darkly
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 2940013006430
Format Type : Nook
Number of Pages : 282 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Delta Green: Through a Glass, Darkly Reviews

  • Zachary Jacobi
    2018-11-15 16:21

    This is what I was looking for in a Delta Green book. The others played up the cosmic horror angle ("Oh woe is me, the world is so barren and cares nought for us mortals; or worse. Simple disregard would be so much better than the hatred which beings from beyond the deep feel for us. We are mere insignificant motes to them..." and etc. for four more paragraphs) past the point where it was at all interesting.This book didn't do that. It managed to keep a lid on the laments about humanity's place in the cosmos and instead focus on the people who (against all odds) were trying to keep humanity safe. There was more tradecraft, more scheming, and the book really benefitted from being anchored to a story on the human scale. The brushes with something greater heightened the tension among the humans, instead of obliterating it.The book also benefitted from a more tightly focused plot. Set over a week instead of years and decades, I got a chance to actually orient myself and figure out what was going on, instead of being left constantly confused. If you only read one Delta Green book, make it this one. It also ties in well with the other ones I've read, so if you've read other DG books, I recommend this one even more.

  • Blaze
    2018-10-23 18:11

    Fun if you already know the major players involved. If I had not known who Joe Camp or Adolph Lepus were, I would have been playing catch-up the whole book. Still, I love this setting and would love to see more, more, more of it!

  • Max Z
    2018-10-20 17:15

    You probably won't like it, if you don't have a good knowledge of Delta Green mythos (too many characters and names with little explanation) but if you do, the book is like a rainbow of setting references. I was expecting a story with low stakes at start but weirdly enough, they've decided to completely rewrite the canon set in the RPG supplements, both the DG and MJ12 state of affairs. This had me baffled until I've googled this bit from the official DG FAQ:Are the novels and fiction anthologies official or “canon”? What about the website? Do I have to incorporate them into my games?In Delta Green, nothing is canon. Consider the novels, short stories, and online articles the way you would consider logs or journals of other players’ games, as examples of stories or games which other players have experienced. All players are encouraged to use what materials are appropriate and most effective for their games, whatever the source. Use what works; do what you will with the rest.So there you go, guys, everything is fine, MJ12 is fine, DG is fine, (view spoiler)[Lepus (hide spoiler)] and (view spoiler)[Kroft (hide spoiler)] are fine.

  • Rickey Russell
    2018-10-31 15:33

    Delta Green: Through A Glass Darkly is a blend between science fiction and classic horror story telling. The novel written by Dennis Ditwiller in just one in a series of Delta Green novels that play upon the twisted world created by Lovecraft and reigned by Cthulhu. Through A Glass Darkly starts off with a story already begun. Much in the way classic crime novels or Grisham novels weave tales of black ops and underground organizations hiding in the shadows of society and cleaning the streets of sinister and disaster laden plots by seedy characters or nefarious villains, so does the book too begin. In this realm of conspiracy there are many forces at work. There is an organization known as Delta Green who clean up the mess and stop the madness that befalls an unsuspecting populous. Then there is Majestic, a powerful but corrupt secret agency that wants all the power and knowledge that humanity can uncover whether from mad scientists, alien races, or dark forces from another dimension.read full review here! http://asouthernlifeinscandaloustimes...

  • Gar
    2018-10-18 17:16

    This was better than the Delta Green book I read right before it, primarily because the characters in general had a bit more agency and actually did stuff. It retained the same general flaws as "Denied to the Enemy" as quite a few of the scenes didn't really flow together. Characters changed and grew, but all too frequently off-stage, just coming back later different. An early plot hook mostly fizzled out and was resolved more between the lines then with the attention the situation deserved. That kind of thing.

  • Kevin Trainor
    2018-11-01 12:34

    This is a big improvement over Denied To The Enemy, Detwiller's first Delta Green novel. Set in the near future, when Delta Green has officially been disbanded (and unofficially continues its work as a collection of rogue cells consisting of Federal agents), this novel mainly covers the climactic struggle between Delta Green and the MAJESTIC-12 committee, which has sold the US and its citizens to the aliens in return for snippets of their technology. Has what may qualify as a happy ending in the Delta Green universe. :)

  • Simon
    2018-10-23 17:14

    This is the first Delta Green book that I've not particularly liked.The problem is it starts out telling one story, and then diverges off to tell another story about characters who haven't been properly introduced, that require you to have read all of the other DG green books to have any idea what is going on and why. And I must have missed one, because I was completely lost about who half the people were.And given it's about complex government conspiracies...So yeah. I think this one needed a lot more editing.

  • Shannon Appelcline
    2018-11-14 12:08

    There's some nice action-adventure in this book and some nice weirdness. Unfortunately, I found the rest difficult to follow with a too-large cast of characters getting too little attention and various agencies interacting with each other. I found it particularly difficult that we had a nice weird Mythos plot at the beginning of the book, and then it all became those agencies fighting each other toward the end.

  • Pat Wilson
    2018-11-02 11:32

    Delta Green seriesI'm a newbie to this series and was a bit confused as to the origins. The writer assumes every reader will be pulled into the DG world on first read. I may have to read another book to get a feel for the series. Action is good but the confusing story line holds this one back.

  • Andre
    2018-10-24 13:19

    A well written look into the world of Delta Green. A fast moving story with a nice look at how the Lovecraftian Mythos might conflict and interact in the modern world. A good read for any Delta Green role-players and anyone the is a fan of cosmic horror and secret operations battling for the fate of humanity.

  • Michael Bourgon
    2018-10-29 18:09

    A fantastic Conspiracy/Thriller/Cthulhu book, it does a great job both telling a story, and informing how Delta Green has changed in the past decade. It's only fault is that it's hardly a standalone novel - you have to know who Joe Camp is, why Alfonse is named that, what Delta Green even _is_.

  • John R. Dailey Jr.
    2018-10-21 19:32

    A HELL OF A DARK TALE IT IS...Hello, this story was just plain great. If you're in to this kind of Lovecraftian wonderfulness, then these are your kind of stories. Damn fine stuff. Thanks.

  • Reza
    2018-11-14 12:18

    Whoa! An intense novel of the Delta Green conspiracy that manages to entertain, and pave the way for the update with the game. For fans of DG, I really recommend it. For people that have no clue what I'm talking about, nothing to see here.

  • Robdguk
    2018-11-07 14:12

    I am a big delta green rpg fan and found this a good read adding to the rpg, just as much as being a good novel